Skip to content

Announcements

Useful Links!
Help Our Community Answer Your Questions Better By Including In Your Post: Gender, Have You Been Tested For An STD Yet?
Type Of STD Tests and Results? Any Medications To Control Your STD?

I'm really confused with my herpes results. Can someone please help?
Jaylith21 posted:
I recently just got my herpes results back and I'm having trouble understanding. I didn't ask any questions there because the people at the clinic I got tested at, are very unprofessional. Here they are.

HSV 1 and 2- Specific Ab, IgG
HSV 1 IgG, Type Spec. 1.51. High

HSV 2 IgG, Type Spec. <0.91

HSV, IgM I/II Combination. 4.28. High

And this is the index:
index. 0.00 - 0.90
Negative. <0.91
Equivocal. 0.91 - 1.09
Positive. >1.09

It would really be helpful if someone would explain this to me.

abe648 responded:
I am not a medical professional but I have learned a lot about herpes.

You are a low positive for HsV 1 at 1.91. So it appears that you just got this. Most people who have been possitive for a while will test around or over 5.0

You are negative for HSV 2 as it is below the value of 0.91.

Many many many people have HSV 1 so it is not a big deal just avoid contact if youu do get an ob.

Did you have an out break recently and is that why you got tested? If you got an ob where was it located?

To learn more read the info in my signature line below.
Abe ...I am not a medical professional. Read the Herpes Handbook, Watch the Video and Terri Warren's book is availible umder the Heading Herpes at http://www.westoverheights.com/

Jaylith21 replied to abe648's response: