Skip to content

Announcements

Useful Links!
Help Our Community Answer Your Questions Better By Including In Your Post: Gender, Have You Been Tested For An STD Yet?
Type Of STD Tests and Results? Any Medications To Control Your STD?

genital herpes and menstruation
livingnatural posted:
I've had genital herpes for about 3 years now and am still waiting for the outbreaks to lessen does anyone else experience them every month just before menstruation and is there any hope that this will stop or can I expect this every month until I have my period?

abe648 responded:
Are you taking anything in the way of suppressive therapy and if so and at what dosage?

Once you answer this I will be better able advise you on how to to go forward.
Abe ...I am not a medical professional. Read the Herpes Handbook, Watch the Video and Terri Warren's book is availible umder the Heading Herpes at http://www.westoverheights.com/

livingnatural replied to abe648's response:
yes, it's Valtrex at 500 mg and it's once a day up to twice a day but I don't take it everyday anymore because I was still getting the outbreaks and find that as long as I take it once a month around the time of my period then it makes no difference.
I also take Lysine and sometimes Garlic supplements.

abe648 replied to livingnatural's response:
Since you are getting so many ob's I would recommend hat you talk to your Doc and ask for a R/x of Valtrex of 1 gm per day. This is because you are getting ob's so often. This is what ist recommends in the Herpes Handbook if you get more than 5 ob's per year. If you are in a loving relationship then I think it would make you feel a lot better to have a better control of your Herpes . Even if you are not you would still fell better with less ob's.