I am too young to feel this old...
guitargeek posted:
I am a 20 year old male. I was diagnosed with HPV genital warts 8 months ago. I am needless to say a little worried about my future. I have tried numerous treatments and now the ACV treatment currently. I will be extremely happy if it works, but my optimism has faded after numerous failed treatments over the last 8 months. What i want most if to regain my strength emotionally. I was already i very introverted male prior to my diagnosis and now its just 10 times worse. I assume i'll never have the chance to love or be loved. Its depressing... sorry for being a downer.

But, i have alot i should be happy about. I am a very intelligent college student, president of my fraternity, and exercise daily (i.e. i am pretty dang handsome) haha. I get asked out all the time and refuse to engage in even the beginning steps of a relationship. I am terrified it will develop (as it should) and i will have to spill the beans. I feel like my reputation would be ruined. I use excuses like "i am working too much right now for a relationship" or "i am already seeing someone". (Both lies, but i don't want to hurt them by letting them fall in love with me and then losing them because i kept a secret). Honestly, i don't think i could tell a stranger on the first date "Hi my name is ... and i have HPV, you wanna go see a movie".

Oh and by the way. I have only been with 2 girls. One i dated for 2 years and the other for 3 weeks. So, again, i have not even been given a chance to see my future children. I feel like i am letting myself and my parents down by not being able to develop a relationship when i have no reason not to except my own fear. My mom is the only one who knows i have HPV. She is the only one i trust knowing that.