Includes Expert Content
Rogaine and Skin Side Effects?
wishingitaway posted:
I am hoping an expert will be able to answer my question on this one. I am a 38 year old female with hereditary hair loss. I have been using Rogaine for Women (2%) for approximately two years. I started out using 1x/day and for the last year I have been applying it 2x/day.

Coincidentally (or not), I feel that the skin around my eyes in the last couple years has gone downhill. I have dark circles and puffy eyes that have never really been a problem in the past. I am also noticing more fine lines (and I don't really get much sun). I never made a connection with the Rogaine until I was recently on a hair loss community where others mentioned similar issues.

I don't see anything listed on the official side effects. However, others have said there have been some studies looking at the effect of minoxidil on collagen production.

I do feel the Rogaine has helped some, and I am afraid to stop as I know any hair gained would be lost and I dread that. By the same token, am I risking premature aging by continuing?

Has anyone had any similar experiences? Can any of the experts comment on this potential side effect?

Mary Ruth Buchness, MD responded:
Dear wishingitaway,
You have brought up a good example of how false claims become viral on the internet. I did my own internet research and found 2 studies that show that high doses of minoxidil applied to rat cells in culture (not actual live rats) decreases collagen production. I also found hundreds of people in chat rooms claiming that they have gotten wrinkles from minoxidil because it "degrades collagen". There is no study showing that minoxidil degrades collagen. (I smell a class action suit on the horizon.)