Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Ingrown Hair Frustration
An_250218 posted:
So I've been fighting against ingrown hair for about 6 months maybe a little longer and i have tried a lot of products and nothing seems to work. I've gotten to a point of low self esteem because i don't know what to do anymore. I've changed changed bathing products and non razor bump products and nothing seems to work.. I'm ashamed to ask for help and continuously search for ways i could fix it myself. I posted this to see if anyone had any recommendations or would like to suggest anything. I'm 21 male Latino in search of a solution. I have left a Photobucket link to see what I'm struggling with.

An_250218 responded:
http://s5.beta.photobucket.com/user/hondorican15/media/photo1.jpg.html

WiZKER responded:
So I've been fighting against ingrown hair for about 6 months maybe a little longer and i have tried a lot of products and nothing seems to work. I've gotten to a point of low self esteem because i don't know what to do anymore. I've changed changed bathing products and non razor bump products and nothing seems to work.. I'm ashamed to ask for help and continuously search for ways i could fix it myself. I posted this to see if anyone had any recommendations or would like to suggest anything. I'm 21 male Latino in search of a solution. I have left a Photobucket link to see what I'm struggling with.

Hi,

Ouch! After viewing your pics I'm so sorry to see what you're going through. I too am prone to get razor bumps and ingrown hairs so I feel your pain.

I'm an African-American male and this disease (and yes, this is a disease!) has left me very self-conscous every since last year. Here's the problem:

Razor bumps occur when a newly shorn hairs grows back to re-enter the skin. As it continues to pierce and embed itself into the skin, a bump will appear as a sign of injury.