Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Got the Itch?
VitoAnneCornelius posted:
I'm a 38 year old female living in the Bay Area of California. I'm not a health professional, but the following are things I've noticed , or things that have helped me, when I get that maddening itchiness:

Unscented lotion (I like Gold Bond Ultimate Soothing Skin Therapy Cream).

Aloe vera gel (I like to refrigerate mine).

Witch hazel (Again, I like to refrigerate mine).

Cooler water when bathing or showering helps soothe skin and is less drying than hot water.

Drink a LOT of purified or filtered water.

In my experience, when I've had too much citric or acidic food in diet, touching or ingesting, it seemed to irritate my skin.

Baking soda or oatmeal in bath may help. I've used baking soda sprinkled in the bath water.

Making sure ceiling fan, vents, air conditioner, open windows where fans are next to, are all very clean —I use a solution of rubbing alcohol (½ water, ½ rubbing alcohol) in a spray bottle to kill dust mites.
Air purifier (Make sure it's cleaned regularly).

Water purifier for shower and bath (While this may be expensive, chemicals in the water, or the water treatment to the water, may irritate some people's skin.

Make sure your towels are clean —and possibly switch them out every other day. And don't share bath towels.

I know this has been mentioned, but unscented and allergen-free laundry detergent can be a real boon. When using the washing machine, I make sure it doesn't have mold growing in it, is cleaned regularly, and the dryer is wiped down regularly.