Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
herbal vs. prescricptions sleep aids & night routines
laurenm328 posted:
I don't have any response to questions about Somnapure, but I have plenty of experience with sleep issues. I've been to a sleep clinic, which I could hardly call good research, since I was hooked up to monitors and wires and in an unfamiliar environment. When I couldn't fall asleep they gave me an Ambien and based their findings on a drug-induced sleep. Anyway, long story short, I've tried Lunesta (which game me night-time halucinations) and then took Ambien for 2 years. I finally weened myself off of Ambien b/c I didn't want to rely on a prescription drug to sleep for the rest of my life.

I currently take melatonin to help me sleep. It's pretty cheap, can be found at a local drug store and I feel better that it's a bit more natural (just a synthetic form of a chemical that is in everyone's brain). It doesn't knock me out like Ambien did, but I do think it helps. Also, I've found other ways to help my sleep. Here they are:

1.) I got on a good sleep routine. I started forcing myself to go to be earlier and now I naturally get tired around that time of night. Also doing things in the same order (wash face, floss and brush teeth, pick out clothes) each night is helpful.

2.) I try to turn off the TV and computer at least 30 minutes before I get in bed and my husband and I do NOT have a TV in our bedroom (I used to fall asleep to the TV but that makes sleeping much worse - read about it.)

3.) When I'm disciplined, I exercise, which always helps me sleep better.

I know everyone has different issues, but these are the things that have helped me. Good luck!

laurenm328 responded:
Oh, and one more thing. I don't drink anything with caffeine after 11am. Some people aren't as sensitive to caffeine as I am, but it helped me.

Andie_WebMD_Staff replied to laurenm328's response:
Hi Lauren,