Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Sleep Awareness Week!
Caprice_WebMD_Staff posted:
This week is 'Sleep Awareness Week' and what I'm wondering is what do you wish others would understand about your own sleep issues? Have you been frustrated when others just don't get it and/or don't support you?

sleepingmikeawake responded:
Hi,
It is frustrating when the majority of people don't understand or even belittle the difficulty of being prepetually tired and sleepy to the point of collapse. Being looked at as if we were some what less of a person.
I am a Electronics Tech. (now), I have had to make a few life changes in the past 25 years because of the onslaught of Narcolepsy w/C,HH,Sp, and Mixed Apnea. I have had a MSLT and sleepstudy done 25 years ago and had another in 2009. It has greatly affected my quality of life and is running me into the ground.
The battle to "keep up" in the work-force has been a long one and not without its' losses. I have tried almost everything chemically but have found that eventually the treatments become intollerable or they simply stop working and the amounts of the Med. cause other neurological problems. This past year I have ended up in the Hospital 3 times. all the symptoms of Gall bladder attack but nothing found but a "fat Liver with a syst on it."
I have been diagnosed with IBS now and I have given the diet change more than 8 months, adding the daily fiber that is prescribed...this only makes other problems which add to the stress of the sleep disorder which in turn is probably the root cause of the IBS along with having spinal stenosis and the ill effects of all the strain that sleep deprivation and REM intrusions cause....only to hear a coworker say:"well ya need to go to bed earlier and get more sleep."
(That kinda tears at my heart.) Especially when you know you are doing everything you can to live day in and day out with this disorder and stay safe and not cross the lines when driving.