Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Muscle twitching/jerking question - please help!
seventhcandle posted:

Over the summer, I had a brief bout of sleepless nights and dediced to give Unisom (doxylamine succinate) a try on June 26. I've never tried sleeping pills before, but I figured it couldn't hurt if I tried one. I popped one half of a pill (12.5 mg) and fell asleep that night, but woke up feeling drugged and I had some tinnitus. When I tried to fall asleep the next night, I couldn't - I noticed my foot would jerk briefly to the right as I was falling asleep.

Somehow I managed to sleep ok after that night for three nights in a row, until the insomnia returned again. I took one more 12.5 mg Unisom pill on July 3 and fell asleep ok for about 6 hrs. except for waking up twice in a startled state twice during the night. The next night, however I had muscle twitching in my legs and calves and my feet would jerk to the right, as they did a few nights before.

I had another run of sleepless nights and on July 6, decided to take what would be my last unisom tablet (12.5 mg again). I was twitching pretty badly and woke up with tightness in my chest/difficulty breathing for about 10-15 seconds. I threw the Unisom out and went to my PCP because I was twitching really badly, now not only in my legs and feet, but also my arms and shoulders. She told me to stop taking the Unisom and prescribed me some Ambien and told me to take it on an "as needed" basis and re-assured me I would not react the same way to this different kind of medicine as I had to the Unisom.