Skip to content
Fisher-Wallace Stimulator
Anon_11642 posted:
Hi - has anyone tried this product? It is a band that you put around your forehead and you leave it on for 20 minutes and it supposed to be helpful to anxiety, depression and insomnia.

Not sure if your primary care dr can prescribe it or if psychiatrists can prescribe it.

Would be interested to know if anyone has heard of this and if so tried it - would appreciate your comments - thank you.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

chipfisherfw responded:
Dear Anon:

The product requires permission from a licensed health care practitioner, which can include primary care doctors. Each state is different, but usually this includes psychiatrists, acupuncturists, chiropractors, LMT, OT, PT and LSW's.

Full disclosure - I'm the President of Fisher Wallace Labs.

Paul_K_Fauteck responded:
Yes, I searched it out, purchased it, used it, and was very pleased with the results. I am a clinical and forensic psychologist, and regardless of how much I know and how good my own past therapy was, I am subject to periods of low-level mania (hypomania) and major depression. The last bout of major depression came in spite of the medications I already took regularly. Adding one more and adjusting my dosages only helped marginally.

This episode was truly debilitating. Hardly a day went by that suicide didn't occur to me as an option. I was at the point of considering electroconvulsive therapy, and searching out options, when I came across this. At first glance it's easy to confuse it with gadgets that have been around for decades and that, at best, are harmless toys, but as a scientist I saw immediately that the principles employed were vastly different and that it had been created through painstaking research.