Skip to content
Balloon Sinuplasty Problems
emilywatts1025 posted:
Hello- I'm new to this so I hope I'm posting in the right spot. I just underwent balloon sinuplasty 7 days ago. I feel terrible. I'm dizzy, congested, and my ears feel full. I was told this was a "non event" by my doctor who performed it, but I can barely walk down the hall without feeling like I might fall down. I don't understand it. Is this normal? I'm supposed to run in a relay race that I have been training for all year in two weeks (18 miles) and I can barely walk a mile right now. Does it take this long to recover from sinuplasty surgery? I'm on prednisone (30mg) in the morning to help with swelling, but I just feel really off and weird right now. Just curious if all of this is normal and I just need more time to recover. Please advise. (I'm embarrassed to call my docs as I've been calling them every day and they just say you should be feeling better, but I'm not)!

Jordan_Josephson_MD responded:
Dear emilywatts1025:

Sorry it took so long. I thought I posted this answer already. I hope by now, you are better. If not your docs really need to find out why. Nevertheless, these symptoms after balloon sinuplasty are rare and in fact perplexing. There is something else going on. I don?t know enough about your symptoms, but dizziness after sinuplasty is very rare. I wouldn?t call it a non event either. Something is wrong. Either you have eustachian tube dysfunction, a viral labryrinthitis, or an intracranial problem that can either be a result of the surgery or coincidental to the surgery, or a cardiac or metabolic problem. Either way it needs to be addressed, diagnosesd and than your docs have to come up with an answer to resolve your problem.