Skip to content
Side effects from quitting smoking?
amanda2315 posted:
Has anyone ever had weird side effects from quitting smoking??? Some background info: I am a college student (23 years old) who quit smoking 8 days ago. I have been a smoker for about a decade. The 1st 5 years half a pack, the last 5 years a full pack per day. I started using the nicotine patch again only this time the 14 mg instead of the 21 mg. I wore it for the 1st 4 days but it made my skin itch and burn so I decided to go cold turkey at that point. I have quit smoking in the past once for 3 months, for 40 days another time...only this time I am having some weird effects. At least I think it may be related to quitting since that's when the symptoms showed up...? I am currently uninsured until June when I go back to working full-time...so I don't want to go to the doctor unless I really need to. Sorry to ramble on and on but here are my symptoms: 1. Almost non-stop heart burn for the past week that wakes me up in the middle of the night. I rarely get heart burn and I have been eating bland foods for the past 3 days but am still getting heart burn! 2. Gas, bloating, and having difficulty having a bowel movement. This has seemed to start subsiding. 3. Feeling my emotions more intensely...whether happy, sad, annoyed, or whatever I happen to be feeling....it feels a lot stronger. 4. I've gained 5 pounds. I have been eating more...but that seems a bit extreme in only 5 days. The symptoms explained above are concerning me, especially the first one. Have any former smokers also experienced these symptoms upon quitting??? If so, how long did it take the symptoms to subside? On a final note...this time around has seemed easier quitting than in the past in terms of dealing with cravings and temptations. I just need to get to the bottom of why I am experiencing the physical symptoms above that I haven't in the past. Any help is truly appreciated!

mossolbailongam responded: