Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
quit smoking
tinaandsons posted:
So I just quit smoking yesterday after almost 30 years on the "butts" I am using nicotine gum, maybe 2 pieces a day. Here is my question....I have heard people who quit saying "wow I have so much energy now" but for the past two days all I have wanted to do is sleep I am so tired. I am assuming it is because nicotine is a stimulant that I am now getting quite a bit less of....but this sleepiness and laziness is quite annoying. has anyone experienced this if so how long before it goes away. If I am going to remain this tired, I am going back to butts!!
Thanks!
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Chris_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hiya TinaAndSons!

No going back to ciggys to feel better! (there is so much wrong with that sentence!)
Look I am no expert, but I wanted to share my experience. I quit just once and many years ago and it's the best healthiest thing I ever did for myself. And yeah the bad news is I felt worse before I felt better. I didn't use a patch or gum, so I cannot speak on that, but lots of nicotine came up and out and my body had to get rid of all that I had taken in over the years. You're body has been through a lot and now will be feeling it without the nicotine. Hang in there, I promise over time you will feel wonderful, your sense of smell will be better as well as your sense of taste. Breathing better, it's all good! In the mean time, focus on the big picture, it's the BEST thing you can do for yourself. They don't say it's hard to quit for nothing, but overcome it!!

Chris_WebMD_Staff responded:
And by the way, check in when you can, I'm here for support and I would love to know how things are going for you. Hang in there!

tinaandsons replied to Chris_WebMD_Staff's response: