Skip to content
28 HOURS SMOKE FREE but the kids may do me in!! :)
mercysrogue posted:
I have smoked for 15 years. I mean I've SMOKED (like a train on fire)! But, here I am 28 hours without a cigarette! Is this really happening? I am so happy! I've been going through the motions and doing everything I can to not smoke and, until today, it has been manageable. I am a Mental Health Therapist and I just been 3 hours teaching a parent behavioral modification with his 3 kids who all have ADHD! If I'm not going to smoke after that, I'm just not going to smoke ever again!

Chris_WebMD_Staff responded:
Never again I say! Resist and keep smoke free!
Good for you!
There will be testing your will power all along, it gets easier I promise!

mercysrogue replied to Chris_WebMD_Staff's response:
It makes me smile because it feels, now that I am trying so hard to be smoke free, that there are so many stressors, but, if I really think about it, there's nothing new under the sun! It just FEELS worse because of the circumstances related to quitting! I'm worried for the weekend. It will be my first weekend without cigarettes since I was 18 and my weekend allows me lots of free, downtime. It's not like my busy work week at all! I usually am glad that I have so much free time, but, right now, I really hope my weekend can keep me busy enough to not smoke!

Alapaki responded:
Relax! I smoked for 50 years sometimes as much as 2 packs a day. I had my last cigarette with my morning coffee on October 1, 2010.

Join a group like Quitnet to track your progress. If you're disciplined enough you can make it relatively painless. Don't be afraid to use a combination of cessation aids and don't be afraid to extend their usage until you reach a comfort plateau. BUT MAKE A PLAN AND STICK TO IT!