Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
My Motivation!
vanessadawn posted:
I am on my preparation week for my start date of September 25th to slap on the patch and QUIT! I recently tried Chantix again and this time it made me REALLY ill with daily nausea and headaches, so I am going to try nicotine patches. I have been smoking for 23 years.

Anyway, I LOVE smoking, I enjoy it, I am a "food" smoker; a "phone" smoker, a "car" smoker, a "social" smoker, but most of all I am a "STRESS" smoker. I know it is stinky, smelly, causes health problems...blah, blah, blah....but I didn't care. I have two kids and I told them "if you ever smoke, I will kick your butt!" What a hypocrite I am, huh!?!? Then, August 6th came and changed everything.

My mother, age 62, was in a minor fender-bender which brought on symptoms of a mild heart attack. I was scared out of my mind, she of course played it down, even herself signing forms at the emergency area wherein they allowed her to go outside and smoke. None of us really ever thought that smoking was THAT dangerous. On 8/6 she was admitted for observation and tests, on 8/7 they confirmed the heart attack and moved her to a better hospital which was actually, her PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT. On that day she told me that she would be undergoing a heart cath on the 9th and she'd know more. That evening brought the call that crushed my world, a nurse on the phone said, "you need to get down here as quick as you can"...I collapsed to my knees in tears. They were afraid that by the looks of the heart cath she did NOT have more than 3-6 months to live without SEVERE intervention. We drove to be by her side and what usually takes us 10 hours took us 8 hours. Getting to my mother before she came out of open heart surgery was the most important thing in my life at that very moment.