Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Need to quit.....
carsonc2 posted:
Okay, this is my first time here. I am looking for resources and information on quiting smoking. Like a post I read earlier, I enjoy smoking but I have a lot of family history with heart disease and cancer and I need to quit. I have tried several times unsuccessfully to stop.

I thought about the e-cig but I am a little afraid of them. I have tried the gum and it did not work for me. Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

KSUCats responded:
My first time here as well. I guess it is a positive that we are hear trying to get help. I have started using the Nicoderm Transdermal Patch and it takes the edge off of my cravings. I still have cravings but they are not as severe. I also try to drink a lot of water during the day. Good Luck, here's to a healthier life for both of us.

totolost responded:
This is my first time here too. I have been using the electronic cigarette now for two years. I too enjoyed smoking and smoked for about 45 years. When asked by my adult daughter if I would consider trying the e-cig I kinda brushed it off. One day I decided to give it a try. When it arrived I was VERY nervous about trying it. Two years later I can honestly say it is the best thing I have ever done for myself!
Two weeks ago my atomizer died and I did not have a replacement. I ordered more but in the meantime, needing the nicotine fix, I bought a pack of cigarettes. YUCK!!! I HATE smoking cigarettes! Lesson learned. I never want to smoke a cigarette ever again.

BuBuSpidecky replied to totolost's response: