Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
E cig results
An_246955 posted:
I am a doctor and I have been smoking since I snuck my first cigarette from a visiting uncle's pack when I was 14. I have always loved smoking! (I even remember enjoying warm, comforting smell of my friend's mom cigarette as she drove us kids to grade school back in the eighties.) Like others, I have quit so many times that I simply "quit quitting". I have tried cold turkey (made it 6 months plus), gum, hypnotism, and Chantix. I even prescribed Chantix to my patients - yes, I am a doctor and admit that I am a former "closet smoker". In the beginning I felt like I could quit anytime and did so multiple times but it never lasted more than 6 months. (For those of you who think it's a matter of not enough "willpower", I challenge you to quit drinking coffee/caffine products for a similar time period- Does the mere thought elicit feelings of dread or negativity? Bingo.)

Truthfully, I HATED the fact that I smoked. It was a comfort, a crutch, a little mini-break for myself, an after dinner treat, whatever. I knew that I was killing myself slowly, one cig at a time, but I just couldn't quit. A year or two ago I came to the realization that I really couldn't quit. Chantix worked, but was a nightmare, literally.