Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Muscle Itch after Acute injury
An_227250 posted:
I pulled my piriformis, had L4 injury --- last Nov. I have been an exercise instructor (step, weights, running, cycling) for over 30 year. I was able to push through pain and am back to normal EXCEPT an itching sensation in the exact area (piriformis/glute) that comes and goes. There does not seem to be a pattern but when this happens - this internal itching - I am driven nuts. Any reasons? I cannot find anything. No one, Dr., Chrio, Massage -- knows.

DUKE MEDICINE
David Berkoff, MD responded:
This is interesting in that I have recently treated a patient with a similar problem that had the same "deep itch" complaint. SHe said it was like an itch she could not scratch. We ended up sending her for graston, which is an extreme form of deep tissue massage. I think this itch may be from tiny scar bands that are holding onto a small part of the injured area creating this problem. Sometimes if the Graston does not work I will do a simple injection (if indicated) and that will resolve the itching although I do not do this if the only symptom is that nagging itch.
Good luck.

joannateamtype1 replied to David Berkoff, MD's response:
Thanks so much -- just in the event this does disappear -- to keep my sanity - what type of injection should I look for. You are right - deep tissue massage helps -- I cannot afford it all the time....boo hoo.

iwritewords replied to David Berkoff, MD's response: