Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Long Lasting Body Aches
tkellyvt1 posted:
Hi Doc,
I'm a 33 year old healthy male, avid runner, 20-25 miles a week. I've been suffering from what I can only describe as constant soreness and fatigue in my lower body. Even if I take a few days off from running when I then go out for a run my legs and hips just feel tight and fatigued. I take good care of myself, eating healthy, stretch, strength train. Could there be a medical reason for my fatigue? I have thought about going to see my doctor but I'm not sure what he would do. No other symptoms I can think of besides stress and anxiety but I've had those since I was 20. What are some medical conditions I could research to see if they match my symptoms?

deadmanwalking57 responded:
tkellyvt1:

I am not a doctor, but I am an avid exercise enthusiast and I read and study exercise physiology. When I trained smart, I avoided injury for years and could compete at a pretty high level.
25 miles a week is a lot of running. Over how many days is this spread? What kind of intervals do you do, with how much active rest ?

The constant soreness and fatigue certainly sounds a lot like over training. From any one very hard workout, you could go a week of only light short runs before you fully recover. If you never give your body a chance to fully recover, you are damaging it more before it is fully healed.

I suggest you take a week off running. Do some walking, bicycling, or other light activity. If you feel only somewhat better, take a few more days off, then light activity every other day.