Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Tight Groin muscles related to back problems?
Robbin123 posted:
Hi I am new to this discussion group so I thought I would throw out a question I have. I am an avid cyclist and have been battling off and on back problems. My right hip started a few years ago just getting tight and would pinch down in the bottom of the hip area towards the bottom of my butt. I have been seeing a PT and use orthoditics. I decided to try some different stretches, stretching my psoas muscle which I know gets tight but my right groin muscle feels tight too so I tried a new stretch for that. Could a tight groin muscle create hip and back problems? Robbin123

Krister responded:
Hi Robbin - answer yes! But do not stop with your psoas, do stretch all your groin/hip muscles. Probably you also have to strengthen your glutes, medius and maximus. And you should see a massage-therapeut for some soft tissue manipulation of back, buts and legs.
Regards
Krister

Robbin123 replied to Krister's response:
Thanks Krister for your reply. I have been stretching and it seems to make a difference. I am going to touch base with my PT and work on your suggestions. Thanks

edc99353 replied to Robbin123's response:
TAI CHI? PT AND ICE

Mary Ann Wilmarth, PT, DPT, OCS responded:
Hello Robbin123

A tight groin can definitely be part of the problem with hip and back problems. The low back and hips work closely together to have you functioning optimally with cycling and your everyday activities. Your body is looking for a balance of strength and flexibility for your back, hips and lower extremities. If anything is tight or weak, then you end up with dysfunction and pain.