Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Posterior tibial tendon torn..tendon wrap repair scheduled
tammyw83 posted:
Hello,

I am curious if anyone else here has had a tendon wrap surgery on their Posterior Tibial tendon and if so, how did your recovery go?

My injury involves a reinjury of this tendon, with the first time it was torn being in March 2011 while I was an active duty Soldier and the surgical repair was done by Army docs in January 2012. That time, they actually almost missed it because it never showed up on the MRI. When they went in for that surgery, they initially only were expecting to clean up damage from tendinitis, but they remembered where I felt the pain so they followed the tendon up and found a 1.5 cm tear. At that time, they said they simply overstittched the tendon at the point of the tear and called it good. My ankle never fully recovered though as I did not get put into physical therapy until December 2012. I was discharged from the Army in April.