Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Stroke and Taste
vick55 posted:
I had a stroke on 12/7/09. My left side was affected. Afterwards I noticed a change in my taste. My left side of my mouth still tingles and I nothing taste the same as before. Can a stroke affect your taste buds?

kokobonna responded:
I don't know about a stroke. But I was recently diagnosed with Bells Palsy, which is alot like having a stroke. I have hardly any taste myself. I was in the hospital for this last week. I can taste Peach Ice Tea, and Dairy Queens Arctic Rush drinks, and thats about it.

I am a chef, so this is devistating to me. As a cook, I feel I'm not cooking to my full potential at all.

thsoltrk replied to kokobonna's response:
My stroke of 4 months ago has recently left me aware of heightened taste sensitivity. It seems to have progressed from a very subtle saltiness sensitivity to a more pronounced sensitivity to most flavors, but mostly saltiness. The overall feeling is something like a metallic taste.
It's odd that it has become more, rather than less, pronounced with time but residuals from a stroke can be time-related. I'm hoping it settles out and goes away but this stroke, my third, is not being kind to me. So, we'll see.

itmatsb replied to thsoltrk's response:
I had my stroke over 3 years ago and have never had a good appetite since. (I used to be overweight.) When I got severely depressed, one of my chief issues was that I had to get up every day and eat. I still hate to eat.

How it affected my taste buds directly was that I can't eat anything the slighest bit tart, e.g. cherries, strawberries, grapes, etc. My whole face contorts severely from even the slightest tooth mark into the cherry for example.

A friend of mine also never got her same appetite back after her stroke 7 years ago.

enteebee replied to itmatsb's response: