Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Getting Help/ when signs of stroke
NJLeto posted:
I had a stroke June 28th 2011 At 23yrs old, I'm an active triathalete and always on the go. But have always had a history of migranes, a week prior to this day I had been having a horrible headache/migrane but on the 28th I woke up with a Migrane unlike any other. I felt some tingling in my left side almost like a numbness but however I thought it was due from the way I was sleeping or a possible pinched nerve in my neck from camping the week before. I decided to drive to the chiropractor where after an adjustment my symptoms seemed to get worse. I started to feel more numb in my left arm and now in my left leg. I work as a unit clerk/cna at a Hospital and needed to work due to the fact I recently just Graduated w/ my B.S. in Psychology and was going to start Nursing school in the fall. I decided my symptoms were just angonized from my head pain and went to lie down before work.
I worked from 2;30pm until 7pm where the pain and the numbness was unbarable and had to go to our ER and during that 6hr visit I was only give a CT scan due to the MRI machine being a mobile one and no one could run it at the time, CT scan showed no Stroke signs, at this time I could barly walk, think, but could speak.
I was discharged and went home w/ my mother and slept for 12 hours and on that next day I tried to follow up w/ my Neurologist and he wasn't avaible until the next day and they didn't seem concerned but I should of gone in. 6/30 I was seen at a clinic near my home, where my Neurologist comes 1x a month and he automaticly had me directly admited to the Larger hospital 30min South.
It wasn't until 4hrs later It was confirmed I had 2 Strokes CVA's one in my PONs and Cerebellum. For being so young I was in shock as well as my Dr., they had blood work sent out for further analysis and decided to have a TEE done to determine if my heart was a factor in the Stroke.