Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
21 Year Old Female Stroke Survior
DCLasVegas posted:
Hello all,

I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right community or not, but I have a lot to share and would like to start here. As mentioned above, I'm a 21 year old female and on 2-7-12 I suffered a stroke (official diagnoses CVA: Cerebrovascular accident), luckily it was not a hemorhagic stroke (bear with me, I'm new to all this). To set the scene, I'm reasonably healthy, healthy weight, low BP, BMI, non-smoker, light drinker, no history of stroke or cancers, basically I had very little chance of having a stroke.

I was at work, I had no warning signs--it just hit me like a ton of bricks. My right arm went numb and limp and I couldn't hardly speak. Luckily I was able to get out the words "I think I'm having a stroke...call 911" and within three minutes I was being treated by paramedics. They were fairly certain that I was having a stroke. I was crying hysterically for the fear that I could not longer speak, I knew something was really wrong. The paramedics warned me that if I continued to cry, the doctors in the ER might mistake my obvious stroke symptoms for anxiety. Within fifteen minutes of first noticing symptoms I was at the hospital (thank god there's a fire station and hospital right next to my work)! In the ambulance I was treated with oxygen and IV fluids and I began to regain 5% of control in my right hand (I couldn't lift it or use it in any way, but I could wiggle my fingers a little bit).

The ER doctor rushed me to get an MRI and when he came to deliver the results he informed me that he saw abnormalities on my scan but because I'm so young (too young for a stroke) he believed it to be a severe migraine paired with anxiety. He prescribed me sedatives, gave me a packet about anxiety and sent me home.