Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Residule Effects of Strokes
An_257997 posted:
I had 3 strokes at the age of 47 due to having a paten foreman ovale. I am 59 now. I am weak on the right side and have no reflexes on the right. I am a nurse and still work and was fortunate that my stokes didn't cripple me. I still work outside of the home, but the last 2 months I have noticed that I am having trouble with my memory and thought process. This is very new to me. I have a neurologist and see him every 6 month. I have expressed my memory concerns with my doctors and he seems to think it nothing to worry about. I am not so sure of that. I had another doctor ask me if anyone had explained to me what can happen to my health years after a stroke. I have not had anyone speak to me regarding this. I am a cardiology nurse and have not really dealt with stroke patients a great deal. My question is...is memory loss years after a stroke common? In my line of work your memory is everything. There are times I do not remember driving to work. I have been "lost" in the hospital that I have worked at for years 3 different times in the last 2 months. I have gotten to the point of being afraid to drive my car or go to work. I am only comfortable in my home where ever thing is familiar. Any opinions, help, and insight would be quite helpful to me. Thanks in advance for any replies.

slickpmc responded:
An_257997:

I too had a stroke in 2009 with a PFO. I subsequently had a cardio seal device installed. Many problems happened after the stroke. I had not only the stroke on my right side, left side was at first completely useless. Right after the closure I had multiple bouts of pericarditis. My pericardium was full and I essentially checked out. They had to perform another heart surgery on me by 1) putting a window in @0 utilizing two tubes they had to drain a ton of volume from my heart sack.
I have also been on stroke study groups. for multiple issues.