Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
On SUBOXONE for 8 Years!HELP??????Anyone else on it for this long????
unilism posted:
Hi my name is michele and I have been on suboxone for 8 years now!I am on 5-6 mg a day and it has slowly sucked the life out of me and for a fact,repeat fact suboxone does slowly causes brain damage.I can tell you this for a fact!I have never done anything but vicoden before and no street drugs.So I got on this suboxone for the fact I was taking 40 vicoden a day!I was a headroom mother at school,out going,fun and attractive!But suboxone will slowly change that away from everyone!You shall see.I am not saying it is bad just sit back and watch!If you are reading this sit back and watch it has happened to all long term suboxone patients.Anyone else been on this for this long and how do I get off??Please help!Thanks!
FirstPrevious12NextLast

choclab88 responded:
My suggestion and what worked for me (I was hooked on methadone, not suboxone) is run to a detox and find a 12-step program if interested. It is going to be a hard, long withdrawal but, at the end, you will be so much better off.

Taximan283 responded:
Hi Michelle,

I was on Subutex for 5 years, which you probably know is Suboxone without the Naloxone in it. I'm off it now because of severe back pains. I'm now on pain killers again. And I did have a hard time switching back to the pain killers. I needed massive doses, and still do. In terms of brain damage, I had noticed my memory was getting worse on it. I have also found that I can no longer feel high on anything. I don't really care about that. But I think that qualifies as brain damage. Exactly what do you think it did to you?