Skip to content
Ativan addiction -high dosage Please advise for tapering method
sharkeysgirl posted:
I've been taking high doses of ativan 2mg in morning and 2mg at night for a year now. I have been taking the drug for almost 5 years. I was diagnosed with a chronic disease 5 years ago, which is why I was prescribed this drug. I also take a 5/500 vicodin in the morning and another one at 5pm. Anyway, I want to stop the ativan and need tapering advice. PLEASE advise. So stressed over this.

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Sharkeysgirl,

I hope others here will share their own tapering stories but you also should do this with your medical provider's help and guidance. Please talk with him/her to set a plan in place.

TDXSP08 responded:
well Ativan come in 2Mg 1Mg .5Mg

So if you are on 2 Mg twice a day reduce it to 3MG a day for a month.

Then reduce it to 2 MG a day for a month

then to 1 Mg a day for a month

then .5 Mg a day for a month

now you are Ativan Free!

I am not a Doctor nor did i play on on "One life to live" but since we truly only do have one to live lets make it a damn good one! if you choose to use any of this advice know that weaning from any Med can be uncomfortable and if at any time you feel like this weaning is out of control or there's something wrong Present yourself to the nearest Emergency Department for triage and Care.

Peace

GTKT79 replied to TDXSP08's response: