Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Alcoholism & Mental Health issue?
mwkitty4 posted:
I have a brother, age 33 who I am pretty sure is bi polar. He drinks about 2 6-packs of beer each day and although he was given Serequel (spelling?) he doesn't always take it.

He lives with me but lately his behavior is getting really off the wall & I am wondering if this is ALCOHOL related or MENTAL HEALTH related:

- He's started to "sabotage" my job. i.e., he'll walk in where I'm on the phone with a client & say off the wall things in a very loud voice causing me to get in trouble with my employer. He'll follow me from room to room & even outside while I'm trying to work (I work as a chat phone line operator from home.)

- weeks back, I asked him not to leave an empty or low coffee pot on the burner disc without turning off the pot so the glass won't crack. I discovered he's seemingly doing that on purpose each day, as though he wants to annoy me.

He was Baker Acted into an institution several times already but he "has the gift of gab" and gets released within days or weeks & never follows through with medication.

When the city of Jacksonville called me & asked me to come pick him up so he'd stop causing problems (harassing hotel owners, wondering the streets, etc.) I knew the police were trying to be nice rather than difficult, considering. (He'd been evicted from where he was staying there by his room mate/friend due to his behavior)

How can I convince him to get help, is this behavior mental health or the alcohol? I don't buy him the beer, my mother does (enabling & can't get her to stop.)

I searched this forum & no mental illness describes his behavior which is like he knows what he's doing, but he does it anyway.

kathycornflakes responded: