Skip to content
I think I have hashi's...
ExpatJenn posted:
A brief history... I've been battling infertility for 7 years and gone through several IVF cycles with donor eggs--and still no baby. I went to an immune reproductive doctor and found out I have a few blood clotting gene mutations and she diagnosed me with hashi's and mixed connective tissue disorder. I just turned 40. Last year I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, but have been given differing opinions from doctors as to if it's Hashimoto's or not...
If anyone can give me any insight, I'd be very grateful!!
I'm defintitely tired a lot, but also found out my Vit D, Vit B12, and iron were VERY low. Now those things are in normal range and am taking supplements. I also (due to benign tumors in my abdomen-surgery X3 in the mid 90's) only have half my intestines (both large and small).
-So I saw a hormone doctor after a miscarriage and she did spit test to check out my adrenals. My hormones were low (expected with early miscarriage), but my cortisol was just barely low. She did TSH just said I had hypothyroidism
-Saw a rheumatologst who checked my anti-thyroglobulin antibodies (just a little bit high-my number was 40 and normal was under 20) and anti-antiperioxidase antibodies (normal)
-Saw an actual endocrinologst here in Kiev (I'm living here at the momment) and she said I DO NOT have hashi's, just hypo and she even did an ultraound and just said my thyroid is inflamed some. She said it didn't look like hashi's.
-Saw reproductive immunologist in chicago and she said I DO HAVE hashi's...
Just not sure what to think... I am not on 75mcgs of syntroid and my thyroid is staying around 1...which is good. I've been checked for RA, Lupus, and celiac and all tests have been negative. But, I think if I do have hashi's--I should be eating gluten free and anti-inflamatory foods...
Anyone with advice?
ExpatJenn

mountainmom48 responded: