Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Question for others with PCOS
Jackienalen posted:
Do you experience pain if/when you ovulate?

I was told that I have PCOS about 6 months ago. I've been using OPKs for about 8 months... I've had 3 months with positive LH surges, and then a 3 months without, and then yesterday I had another positive... however, I've noticed I'm having a LOT of cramping and pain in my ovary area on both sides, and putting two and two together I now realize whenever I ovulate it hurts tremendously.

I'm wondering, are there others out there who are experiencing the same issue, (is it common with PCOS) and if so, has your doctor said anything about it being something in addition to the PCOS?

The pains feel like pulling a muscle or severe cramping. It's not constant, but it's enough to stop me in my tracks when I have them. Also, if I stretch or sneeze it get worse. Anyone else dealing with this?

I'm also wondering if this might be common with ovulation... I've heard others complain when they ovulate, but I'm wondering if this isn't as normal as I'm hoping it might be.
:) Jackie (30)TTC 1 since 06/08 - possible PCOS & other Medical Issues - DH (33) no testing for him yet

brookelovettc responded:
Hi Jackie. Well I don't have pcos but I just found out I have endometriomas and I do experience pain around ovulation. I also have pain/cramps from around ovulation off and on till I get my period. It seems like it would be normal and make since to have pain around ovulation esp if you have cysts. I would be really careful though if you feel a sudden sharp pain and feel the need to sit down, or feel like you're going to pass out. Are you being monitored, are you on any fertility meds?
Me(29) DH(28) TTC since 2008. No prev PG. Started seeing RE May 2010 and IF testing. DH=MFIF. Me=Retroverted uterus and low AMH. 3C w/Clomid=BFN. IVF/ICSI in Feb 2011. FX

Erin_Y replied to brookelovettc's response: