Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Fertile family history but 8 mos of trying. Should I get checked out?
jackii_8 posted:
I'm new to this discussion but I do have concerns that I would love to have some input on. I'm a healthy 26 year old and my husband and I have been trying to get pregnant for almost 8 months without success. I've been charting and using ovulation test kits and everything else I can think of. I've always had regular cycles, around 28 days on average and I've never had any big health issues.

As far as I know, my family has always been fertile. My mom got pregnant within 2 months of trying. My sister has had 4 children and she's only 28. My husband's family has never had any trouble conceiving either. With all that family history on our side, I'm wondering if maybe I should get more thoroughly checked out by my doctor for any underlying medical problems? I know most doctors say wait until 1 year of trying but I would just like to know if something is going on with me. We're doing everything right but my period comes every month without fail, seemingly impervious to everything we're doing. Is anyone else in this same situation?

Thanks!

Babydoll51801 responded:
Believe it or not, it is very common. They say only 50% of couples get pregnant within the first 6 months and 85% in the first year. I am also healthy and only 27 years old, but I started testing somewhat early just for the peace of mind. Depending on the doctor, they will usually run the tests if you want them to, even if it hasn't been a year yet. Since it sounds like you are ovulating regularly, I would suggest having your husbands sperm checked first. It's an easy and quick test. As far as tests for you... you could get a hysterosalpingogram, or "dye test" to see if your tubes are clear. Otherwise I'd just hang in there... It will happen sooner or later! Good luck to you :)

CadillacQueen408 responded:
Hi Jackii,