Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
trying again and confused
An_246320 posted:
My husband and I began trying to get pregnant about 6 months ago. Last month we were thrilled we were pregnant but within a week I had what they called a chemical pregnancy. I know most of the women on this site were further along when they had thier miscarriage but it hurt so much. I was only 5 weeks but it felt awful. They said we could starting trying right away and we have. Now the waiting is killing me to see if AF comes this month or if we were lucky again. I am home for the summer as I am a teacher and although I try to keep busy it is really eating at me, Will we be lucky enough, will i do soemthing wrong to cause a loss again???. Suggestions on how not to think about it or deal with the hurt that i feel from the loss. My husband has taken the approach that if there was no heartbeat it wasn't really a baby yet (he struggles to deal with things like this) but that isn't helping me any and I am not sure how to talk to him about it or get my mind off the loss and the trying again. Can anyone help me.

britt200408 responded:
First of all, I'm very sorry for your loss. I want to remind you that you did nothing to cause it and this is not your fault, but I know it's hard not to play the 'what if' game.

I had a missed miscarriage in November and found out at my first ultrasound. Should have been almost 10 weeks, but they said there was no development after about 6 weeks. It doesn't matter how early it was because it is still a loss. Logically, you can tell yourself that it was so early that you shouldn't be THIS upset. But that didn't really work for me...believe me, I tried. My advice would be to just ride it out and try not to hold back when you really need a cry. All of these feelings of loss, guilt, jealousy, confusion, anger...they will just come flooding in with no warning, especially at the beginning.