Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Newbie here!
mommachip posted:
Yep... newbie to this blog! I am sure some of these questions have been answered before, but please bear with me. I am 35 and just recently my husband and I decided to have children, or at least one child!

Back in 2008 a small cyst on my ovary was found. So my doctor changed up my bc pills to help get rid of the cyst. Which worked... however I ended up having multiple pulmonary emboli in both of my lungs. I do not have any genetic factors or dispositions, and the doctors all believe I got them due to taking a new form of birth control pills. So I have been off the pill for over 3 years now.

We weren't exactly "trying" during this time, but due to not taking pills, we weren't doing anything to try either. But I never gave it much thought that I hadn't gotten pregnant.

Growing up I never really had "regular" periods, but once I started bc pills, they were fine. Earlier this year, now that I had been off of the bc pills, I started having irregular bleeding. I would bleed for 3 weeks straight. I had a dnc and they couldn't find anything. That seemed to help regulate me for a while.

It happened again where I bled for a week, nothing for a day or so, then bleed again for a week, then nothing. Then again for a week I would bleed. So I went back to my dr.

She had me wait to take blood tests until during my cycle, which I did. Which is when she determined that I have PCOS.

So, besides extra types of vitamins she has me taking, I am taking metformin and clomid. I took my first round of 50mg Clomid last month, and a blood test was done on the 20th day of my cycle, which showed I had ovulated. But... no pregnancy.

I JUST finished up my second cycle of clomid and am waiting to see if it works this time! I bought an ov kit, and am waiting for that happy face to appear...

So... questions....:
-How long have most of you been on Clomid before reaching success (if you have?).