Skip to content
Horses
horseride posted:
How can you tell if they are perfect to buy or adopt?

Byroney_WebMD_Staff responded:
Dear horseride, I am not a horse expert, but I do own a lot of horses, so I thought I'd give you my opinion. If you have not owned horses before, or if you would consider yourself a novice horse owner, then I would definitely look to buy or adopt an older horse. Look for a horse with a bright, alert expression who seems interested in the surroundings. A horse for a novice owner should lead, tie, stand for the farrier, go into a trailer easily, be easy to catch and not have any bad habits like weaving or cribbing. If you're intending the horse to be a pasture ornament (i.e. look at, but don't plan to ride), then soundness isn't as important. However, make sure that you are able to handle any special needs the horse might have like special feed, shoes, daily medication, etc. If you have an expert horse friend or trainer, see if they can accompany you and give an opinion. If you know a bit more about horses, you should be able to approach the horse and put a halter on it easily. You should be able to saddle and bridle it, and pick out the hooves without any problem, unless it is not trained to ride. Do not start out with an untrained horse unless you have someone who can help you train the horse, or someone you can afford to train the horse for you. Baby horses (foals, weanlings) are cute, but they take work and can't be ridden until they are three years old. Have someone ride the horse first for you so you can watch. Then, if you feel comfortable with the horse's behavior, you can try yourself. If you have an expert horse friend or trainer, see if they can accompany you and give an opinion--especially of how your riding skills match the horse. Only if you are an advanced/expert horse owner should you consider a horse with problems (rearing, biting, kicking), a stallion (ungelded male horse), or a wild horse (BLM mustang). Also, only an advance