Skip to content

Announcements

Attention All WebMD Community Members:

These message boards are closed to posting. Please head on over to our new WebMD Message Boards to check out and participate in the great conversations taking place: https://messageboards.webmd.com/

Your new WebMD Message Boards are now open!

Making the move is as easy as 1-2-3.

1. Head over to this page: https://messageboards.webmd.com/family-pregnancy/f/parenting/

2. Choose the tag from the drop-down menu that clicks most with you (and add it to any posts you create so others can easily find and sort through posts)

3. Start posting

Have questions? Email us anytime at [email protected]

New to this, bear with me!
    Imjustjulz posted:
    As the title says, I'm new to even considering breastfeeding, although this is my 7th pregnancy. My first daughter passed away in utero, my second daughter, was delivered a month premature, and my son, was a micro preemie at 25 weeks. My other pregnancies were not viable, and I'm closing in on 28 weeks, and so far, ( knock on wood) I've had no major health concerns. Because of my past pregnancy issues, and a classical c-section prior, they will be delivering me by c-section Black Friday, at 36 weeks. With prior pregnancies, I wasn't able to breastfeed, even with medication, I never produced milk. My boyfriend, has emphatically stated, he would like me to breast feed. I am not opposed, if it's possible, but I must admit, I'm nervous, and scared, and stressing over the possibility. I am 36, and breastfeeding wasn't pushed as much with pregnancies when I was younger, formula, was thought to be a great option back then. Now, I find myself facing my own insecurities, as well as misconceptions and irritations already about breast feeding. I am willing to try, but am not comfortable with how it's already being shoved at me, and the fact that I'm being told a consultant will come in. I recently was with a friend during the birth of her child, and the consultant