Skip to content

Announcements

Attention All WebMD Community Members:

These message boards are closed to posting. Please head on over to our new WebMD Message Boards to check out and participate in the great conversations taking place: https://messageboards.webmd.com/

Your new WebMD Message Boards are now open!

Making the move is as easy as 1-2-3.

1. Head over to this page: https://messageboards.webmd.com/family-pregnancy/f/parenting/

2. Choose the tag from the drop-down menu that clicks most with you (and add it to any posts you create so others can easily find and sort through posts)

3. Start posting

Have questions? Email us anytime at [email protected]

9 year old - Disturbing behavior
    mikeanderica03 posted:
    This is my first time trying this but here goes... For the last 6 months my daughter has been acting out in a disturbing way. My wife stays at home with both kids while I work away from home for long stretches. I returned home recently to find that my daughter can only express what she wants by crying. It could be a question about anything....it results in crying. Also, she says that she has these "thoughts" about Mommy and the family and she can't get them out of her head. For example - she wishes Mommy was dead, that she had a different family, hates her house, hates her life. My wife devotes herself to our children and they want for nothing. She is a good student (despite the morning ritual of trying to get out of going to school by crying and expressing these horrible thoughts) and also is a talented athlete. On top of this I am worried about my wife. We are going to seek out some professional help but I wanted to see if anyone had experienced anything like this before.

momuv4girls responded:
    Hi Mike,

I urge you to seek out a well respected, smart Child Psychologist to evaluate your daughter. Her behavior(s) sound concerning to me and I believe you're right to be worried.